How To Stop Procrastinating In 8 Steps

Why-We-Procrastinate

Procrastination is the killer of dreams and ultimately success. Why do people procrastinate? The simple answers are lack of belief in oneself or just plain laziness. If you’ve ever said to yourself “I’ll do it tomorrow” when you know you could do it today…you fell victim of Procrastination. The saying “Don’t put off tomorrow what you can do today” will save you a lot of time and heartache if only you apply it. So today I’m going to share with you 8 Steps on How to stop Procrastinating. Greatness is within you! So let’s get to work on extracting it.

 

Step 1. BREAK IT DOWN

Break down your goals into tasks and small parts. Assign deadlines and mark off your progress. When we think of a goal we think of it as a whole, but we can take a large goal and break it down into smaller parts so the task doesn’t seem so overwhelming. Lets say you wanted to write a book. Sounds like a huge task…and really it is. Trust me, I’ve done it so I know. you want to sit down and write the book from start to finish. Instead break down your book into chapters. Write a chapter a day. In a month you can write 30 chapters! At that rate you could write 12 books a year. now doesn’t’ that seem like something that is possible?

 

Step 2. WRITE IT DOWN

Make your goal official by writing it down. It becomes more concrete. Having it in your head is great. That means you have the idea, but it is important to get that idea down on paper so you can see it. You are more likely to accomplish your tasks once you get them out of your head and on paper.

 

Step 3. TELL SOMEONE

Tell someone what your plans are. It places expectations on you that you set for yourself. Telling someone increases your chances of achieving your goal because now you have to complete the task. You don’t want to go back on your word. Somebody is expecting you to do something other than yourself. Be Impeccable With Your Word!

 

Step 4. SCHEDULE

Establish a regular time to do things. Form a routine like if you were working. When you know you have to get something done you will get it done. Management of your time is a key discipline successful people employ to maximize their time. Time is your most valuable asset. It’s the one thing you can’t get back in life….ever!

Step 5. USE PROPER TOOLS

Organize yourself with the tools you need to get the job done. having the right tools are important. A carpenter wouldn’t go to build a house with a fishing pole and bait. He knows he won’t get anything accomplished. He makes sure he has hammer and nails, a tape measure and the wood to build. The proper tools are essential to your success.

Step 6.  POST REMINDERS

Put your goal on post it notes and stick them where you can see them everyday. These are daily reminders to accomplish your task and to get to work. Remember, you have a deadline to meet.

 

Step 7. COMPLETE ONE GOAL AT A TIME

Get into the habit of “I’ll Do This If I complete That”. This goes back to Step 1 of breaking it down. Only move on to the next task once one is completed. You don’t want to get ahead of yourself, or trying to do too many things at once. You’ll only confuse your self and get lost in the sauce. Just as I have ordered each of these steps order your tasks to complete your goal. Trust me, I’ve tried to take on too many tasks at once. It gets frustrating. One thing at a time will save you a headache.

 

Step 8. SET REWARDS

Give yourself rewards for completing your goals. We all have something we like to do. Well don’t do them until you complete a task. Put yourself on punishment. Only reward yourself once you’ve finished a task. It will motivate you to keep getting your rewards. Don’t deprive yourself of your rewards and your success. GET IT DONE! 

 

By practicing these 8 steps in every thing you do you are sure to achieve your goals. Success will be yours. Not only will it build a great work ethic over time,  it will become second nature in everything you do. Pretty soon there will be nothing you feel you can’t accomplish. eliminating procrastination from your daily routine manifests dreams!

 

download

 

Thank you for visiting MackAuthor.wordpress.com. I hope that you’ve enjoyed your time here and learned some valuable things to aid ion your success. Its all up to you. Learn how to motivate and nothing will stand in your way.

 

Add me on Facebook.com/realmackauthor

Like my PRO page @ Facebook.com/MackBuckleyPRO

 

If you would like to learn how to change your thinking, you can purchase my book THOUGHTS BECOME YOU on amazon.

download

Thoughts Become You is available in paperback in kindle format. For a limited time only you can purchase Thoughts Become you in kindle format for only  $0.99 cents!

CLICK HERE!

FREE on kindle unlimited. Stop procrastinating and invest in your future today!

 

Peace and Blessings,

 

Mack Author

About MackAuthor

Hello, My name is Mack Buckley and I am the founder of MackAuthor.wordpress.com, and the author of Thoughts Become You. Welcome! I am first time published author. I have been writing since I learned how to form the letters of the alphabet. I love words! I am also a songwriter and a blogger. I just love to write. I am in love with it! I started MackAuthor.com to share my book Thoughts Become You. Thoughts Become You is my gift of sharing what I have learned to change my life to you. I have overcome a troubled life by using the very tools and techniques I talk about in Thoughts Become You.
This entry was posted in Believe In Yourself, Inspirational, Mack Buckley, Motivational, Success, Thoughts Become You and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How To Stop Procrastinating In 8 Steps

  1. Excellent post. I’ve been using a bunch of these strategies for a while. My favorite is breaking it down. Every great achievement is just a conglomeration of smaller achievements, which are easy to do.

    • MackAuthor says:

      Thank you very much for commenting! It is great to see that you use these strategies in your life. I hope that someone reads your comments and is inspired to use them in their own life. Your contribution to this post is greatly appreciated! Have a blessed and productive day my friend!

  2. Barrett says:

    On my way to work this morning, I thought to myself how social media allows me to procrastinate to the Nth degree. I was at a red light, and there my phone was (I use it for GPS/traffic), and I thought “Why not see what’s up on FB/Twitter?” I knew it was bad behavior.

    I do two things for a living: I write/draft and I speak in public. If I’m speaking, be it before an audience or before a court, I can’t look at my phone. I am in the moment and I am productive. If I’m writing, be it a letter, a document, or an essay, I’m constantly checking other things – email, social media, texts – just for that quick fix that feels easier than thinking my way past a blank page.

    I’m actually stumbling on your post by procrastinating, so the irony is not lost on me. The conclusion I am coming to is that I have to set time to look at email. Set time to look at social media notifications. It’s OK to “miss” things happening on a screen when real life is happening before my very eyes.

    Also, I scooped up “Thoughts Become You” on Kindle a few days ago, so it’s on my reading list.

    • MackAuthor says:

      Thank you Barrett for commenting and I appreciate you picking up Thoughts Become You! They truly do. You’re so right, it is okay to miss things in the social media world because real life is always happening. If we are constantly checking social media we are not usually our time as wisely as we should be, and often those are the times when we could be preparing ourselves for opportunities that come along in life to make real life better. I hope that you enjoy Thoughts Become You! Please come back and leave a response or write an honest review of your reading experience on Amazon. It would be greatly appreciated. I am always looking for honest critiques on how I can be better and help people more effectively in my writing and life. Have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

